Our Board

Board of Directors and Affiliations


Mayor Sylvester Turner


Amber Wootton.jpg






Ms. Amber Wootton, Chairman


Jacqueline Aguilera.jpg






Ms. Jacqueline Aguilera, East Side University


CCarbonara 914 HiRes Color.jpg






Ms. Cheryl Carbonara, Carbonara Group


Diane Englet 2.JPG

 Ms. Diane M. Englet, CenterPoint Energy


Sue Deigaard.jpg

 Ms. Sue Deigaard, Educational Advocate


John Canales Gorczynski Headshot.jpg





 Mr. John Gorczynski, State Senator Slyvia Garcia


Leisa Holland-Nelson.jpg

 Ms. Leisa Holland-Nelson, ContentActive


Dr Rhea Lawson.JPG

 Dr. Rhea Lawson, Houston Public Library


Ryan Leach.jpg 

 Mr. Ryan Leach, Downtown Redevelopment Authority


Charles Litton.jpg





Mr. Charles Litton, USB Financial Services


Martha Macris.JPG

 Ms. Martha Macris, Memorial Assistance Ministries



 Mr. Lance Menster, Houston Independent School Disrtrict


Amitav Misra.jpg

 Mr. Amitav Misra, Cardinal Advisors, LLC


 Nipul Patel.jpg

Mr. Nipul Patel, Wells Fargo


T. Ray Purser2.JPG

 Mr. T. Ray Purser, Comcast


Steve Shardonofsky.jpg

 Mr. Steve Shardonofsky, Seyfarth Shaw LLP 


Kim Tutcher 2.JPG

 Ms. Kim Tutcher, Community Volunteer


 Dr Leigh Van Horn2.JPG

Dr. Leigh Van Horn, University of Houston - Downtown



Mr. Ed Wolff, Beth Wolff Realtors 


Mike Filla.jpg

Mr. Mike Filla, Cameron International Corporation


david joost.jpg

Dr. David Joost, Houston Community College


Ron Lucik 2.JPG

Mr. Ron Lucik, Harris County Public Library


David Rosen 2.JPG

Mr. David Rosen, Ascend Performance Materials



Mark Sullivan 2.JPG

Mr. Mark Sullivan, On the Mark Communications





Advisory Board and Affiliations

Mr. Bradley Bracewell, Shell

Mr. James Brodnax, Keller Williams Metropolitan

Mr. Mark Carey, Deloitte

Dr. Jennifer L. Christensen, Baylor College of Medicine

Ms. Annie Eifler, Gulf Coast Entertainment

Dr. Abimbola Farinde, Bayshore Medical Center

Ms. Emily Glassel, Silver Eagle Distributing

Mr. William Griffin, U.S. Trust

Ms. Katy Hays, The Brown Foundation

Mr. John Hoye, The Awty International School

Ms. Lisa Langston, Ham, Langston, & Brezina LLP

Mr. Adrian Milton, Latham & Watkins LLP

Mr. Jerry Neal, Chevron

Mr. Matt Summers, Salient

Ms. Jere Talley, Houston Organization of Public Employees

Ms. Michelle TreviƱo, Federal Reserve Bank

Ms. Claudia Vasquez, Wallstreet Texas

Mr. Jesse Wallin, Bracewell & Guiliani

Mr. Joe Wappelhorst, Literacy Advance of Houston

Mr. Roosevelt Weeks, Houston Public Library

Dr. Bill Young


Honorary Board Member

Barbara Bush.JPG

 Former First Lady Barbara Bush


President and CEO

 Sheri Suarez-Foreman.jpg

 Sheri Suarez Foreman

Who We Are

Houston Center for Literacy,
a 501(c)3 non-profit organization, is working to improve literacy rates by connecting literacy providers and resources to support adult learners.

Our Vision

We envision a city where every adult is equipped with the basic skills they need to qualify for jobs that will allow them to support their families and thrive as prosperous, independent, successful members of our society.